MTA Announces Nine Weeks of Limited Overnight Brooklyn L Train Service

Courtesy of the MTA

As part of the MTA’s ongoing Canarsie Tunnel repair project, there will be no L train service from 12 a.m. – 5 a.m. between Lorimer Street and Broadway Junction in Brooklyn starting July 16th for “nine weekends and the preceding weeknights,” the MTA announced in the latest L train newsletter.

During the upcoming closures (listed below) the L train will also run every 20 minutes between 8th Avenue in Manhattan and Lorimer Street in Brooklyn, and every 20 minutes between Broadway Junction and Rockaway Parkway. A shuttle bus will run in Brooklyn between Lorimer Street and Broadway junction on weeknights and on affected subway stations on weekends. Here’s the full schedule of closures via the MTA:

Weeknights

Tues., July 16 to Fri., July 19
Mon., July 22 to Fri., July 26
Mon., July 29 to Fri., August 2
Mon., September 23 to Fri., September 27
Mon., September 30 to Fri., October 4

Service rundown
From 10 PM to Midnight:
L: Operates every 20 minutes between 8 Av and Rockaway Parkway
L: Overlay operates every 20 minutes between Lorimer St and Rockaway Parkway

From Midnight to 5:00 AM:
L part 1: Operates between 8 Av to Lorimer St every 20 minutes
L part 2: Operates between Broadway Jct (L platform) and Rockaway Parkway every 20 minutes
Bus: Operates between Broadway Jct and Lorimer St

Weekends

Fri., July 19 to Sun., July 21
Fri., July 26 to Sun., July 28
Fri., August 2 to Sun., August 4
Fri., September 27 to Sun., September 29
Fri., October 4 to Sun., October 6
Fri., January 3 to Sun., January 5
Fri., January 10 to Sun., January 12
Fri., January 17 to Sun., January 19
Fri., January 24 to Sun., January 26

Service rundown
From 10 PM to Midnight Friday:
L: Operates every 20 minutes between 8 Av and Rockaway Parkway
L: Overlay operates every 20 minutes between Lorimer St and Rockaway Parkway

From 12:01 AM Saturday to 5:00 AM Monday:
L part 1: Operates between 8 Av to Lorimer St every 20 minutes
L part 2: Operate between Broadway Jct (J platform) and Rockaway Parkway every 20 minutes
Bus 1: Operates between Broadway Jct and Myrtle Av
Bus 2: Operates between Myrtle Av and Lorimer St

 

About Greenpointers Staff

Greenpointers is a hyperlocal blog about Greenpoint, Brooklyn covering Ash to Apollo and everything in between.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *